Tshirt Geekery

Thanks for stopping by 😀

I made my husband this tshirt for christmas and thought it might be nice to document the process 🙂

To stencil the shirt I used:

  • Fabric paint
  • Stencil brush ( I use a kids stubby paintbrush with trimmed bristles)
  • Small brush for touch-ups
  • Stencil and pen (or you could print off the image you want to stencil. Sadly my printers ink cartridges are a dry and barren place, but my stencil worked fine for this project)
  • Acetate ( I used a sheet of laminate)
  • Craft knife
  • Masking tape
  • Sheet of card

The first thing I did was create my design. I used a stencil to write the ‘<body>’ tag (and ‘</body>’ for the back of the shirt – for maximum nerd love!) onto the sheet of laminator plastic, then cut it out carefully with my craft knife. Then I simply taped my stencil in place and made sure my sheet of card was behind the area to be painted (inside the tshirt) to stop the paint bleeding through and ruining the other side.

When stencilling it’s important to really load the brush with paint; I dipped my brush into the pot of fabric paint, then dabbed it inside the lid a couple of times and then finally on a sheet of newspaper. This drives the paint all the way up the bristles of the brush and helps your coverage stay even.

After applying a few coats of fabric paint I left the paint to dry. It’s a good idea to let the paint dry between coats, I was pretty pushed for time trying to make this while he was working so I resorted to giving the drying process a little outside assistance with a hairdryer;

Then it was time for the best part of stencilling: the reveal! I slowly peeled back the stencil…

Woohoo! It worked! Now is the time to fill in any gaps left by the stencil 🙂

…and the rest…

and there it was, done! With just enough time to spare for one last blast with the hairdryer 😀

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

