Bottle Top Mirror AKA Project Decision Fail

Greetings, fellow humans šŸ™‚

It’s been a few days since I last posted, that’s the problem with a craft addiction, life sometimes gets in the way! To ease my withdrawal symptoms I’ve been having a go at what should be a quick and simple project; a bottle cap mirror frame. Quick? Not in my vocabulary, sorry šŸ˜‰

I knew that I already had everything I’d need for this project; wood off cut, mirror, bottle tops, glue, spray paint – so I gathered up everything I needed. This was where I hit my first snag! Bottle tops? Check. Spray paint? Check. Wood off cut? Check. Mirror? Errrrrr… I’m sure I saw it laying around here somewhere… Not the best start to a project which principally consists of using bottle caps to adorn a frame around a mirror. *sigh* After turning my house upside down for nearly an hour I found it, less than six inches to the right of where I had looked first, naturally šŸ˜‰ I needed a cup of tea and a sit down after this highly traumatic experience, so I took a break before I had even begun!

After a mug of lovely fair trade tea I sprayed my wood off cut black and left it to dry whilst I washed my bottle tops. I’ve been asking friends to collect their bottle tops for some time; I really wanted enough to mosaic my coffee table but during the time I’ve been amassing my collection of bottle caps I’ve had other ideas, but I digress. I have around 120 bottle tops now and need several hundred more for the coffee table, so I thought I may as well make use of the items at my disposal to make something I could use immediately šŸ™‚

Once the paint was dry I super glued my mirror into the centre of its new ‘frame’ and began to arrange my bottle tops. This is where I hit my second snagaroo. For the record I am terrible at making decisions and the problem is that I just can’t decide on an arrangement of caps that I’m really happy with. This makes me sadface šŸ˜¦

Here’s a couple of layout’s I’ve tried but I still feel like it’s missing something. Any ideas? I started this project three motherflippin’ days ago – I need help!

I would love your input if you have any thoughts, please leave a comment if you have any suggestions or ideas šŸ™‚

I’ve been working on another polymer clay project today, I’ll be posting again very soon with some pretty, purpley pictures šŸ˜€ Don’t forget to subscribe to my blog to receive updates.

*air kisses*

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Steve Hooker
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 09:29:59

    Like me, you worry too much : )

    Reply

    • emilymagpie
      Jan 26, 2011 @ 14:33:11

      Thanks Steve, I am definitely my own worst critic and I tend to over-analyse things. I think it’s sometimes for the best to just walk away and walk on something else for a while, so that’s exactly what I did šŸ˜€

      Reply

  2. christine
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 19:07:52

    Hi Em

    I think the designs should be assigned a number and then you should find some way of generating random numbers (dice?), and leave the arrangement to chance.

    Reply

  3. emilymagpie
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 10:33:54

    Oooo good idea, Christine! I like it šŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

