Candle Holder in Purple

Well, a little later than promised, here is the Purpley Goodness I mentioned in my last post πŸ˜€

I made this with a specific friend in mind and I’m delighted to say she loves it as much as I do. πŸ™‚ If I could do anything differently I think I’d probably make it more purple! You can never have too much purple in my opinion πŸ˜€

I was really pleased with the marbelled effect I managed to achieve in the Green Fauxsaic so I decided to experiment further with this piece. Not only did I create several marbelled ’tiles’ for this mosaic but I also used a purple and fuscia ‘jellyroll’ as an additional focal point. I love how this turned out!

As you can see from looking closely at the (occasionally wonky) pictures, this piece has a touch of sparkle about it πŸ™‚ Instead of using a white ‘grout’ clay I tried using some pearlescent clay instead, which added a little glitz to the overall effect. Pearlescent clay contains tiny mica flakes which gives it a subtle, glittery effect.

I’ve been struggling to get a good photograph of this piece all lit up, it’s actually much more purple in real life, but I hope the pictures I have postedΒ  give you some kind of idea πŸ™‚

Please take a peek at My Creations to see some of my other candle holders, as always if you would like to own anything you have seen on these pages please drop by my Etsy. I’m always delighted to receive custom requests if you had anything specific in mind πŸ™‚

Thanks for stopping by, as always your comments and critiques are always welcome πŸ˜€

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sammi-Jane
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 14:28:58

    Ooooh!! Thankyouthankyouthankyou!!!
    SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO PRETTY!!
    xxx

    Reply

  2. emilymagpie
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 15:50:16

    πŸ˜€ Isn’t it gorgeous?? I’m so pleased with it Sammi, and it’s so you πŸ˜€ xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

