Whirlpool Tea Light Holder

Here is my latest piece which was sort of a custom job and sort of a happy coincidence! I was working on a blue and white design, inspired by the crashing ocean waves , when I was contacted by a friend who wanted a gift for their ocean loving mother’s birthday. I mentioned what I was currently working on and he said it sounded perfect!

I mixed three different shades of blue which show through in a very subtle way and combined with the translucent clay for a beautiful glow. The white ‘foamy’ aspects of the swirling pattern are blended translucent and glitter white clay which gives the whole piece a gentle sparkle, just like the the sea on a sunny day 🙂

From start to finish this candle holder took 4-5 hours! I’m very happy with how it turns out and I hope it brings a smile to a special lady’s face 😀

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Madeline Norris
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 14:19:20

    Love the colours and design, beautiful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

