Dinosaurs + Plates = 1983

What is the first thing that springs to mind when you think of 1983? Shoulder pads? Michael Jackson’s ‘Thriller’? My Little Pony? Well, according to the artisans of Wedgwood nothing says 1983 quite like dinosaurs!

Whilst trawling for vintage goodies I was genuinely stunned by the discovery of this Wedgwood calendar plate known as the The Age of Reptiles plate;

As you can see it has a dinosaur for every month of the year, all of which are listed on the reverse:

What a find! It is so unusual and quirky, I couldn’t possibly leave it there, all alone, nothing but it’s gift box and leaflet for company! What can I say, I’m attracted to oddness πŸ˜€

There are more pictures of this wonderful ceramic creation in this listing in my Etsy shop

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PurpleT
    Mar 19, 2011 @ 21:06:04

    I saw dinosaurs in 1983. It would have been in June. It was a very strange night πŸ˜‰

    Reply

    • emilymagpie
      Mar 19, 2011 @ 22:22:37

      Sounds like a brilliant night! June you say? Well, according to Wedgwood it was most likely a Scelidosaurus πŸ˜‰

      Reply

      • PurpleT
        Mar 20, 2011 @ 22:13:39

        Oh yes, it was quite a night to remember. I saw my bride to be as her head exploded, now that was fun…..I ran away from people who didn’t know i was there. I even ran away from my mates, one of which ended up in a police cell for the night. I stood in awe as one of my mates filled a room in a pub with tiny soap bubbles, the colours were amazing. A somewhat crazy night indeed πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

