The Surfing Bunny of Justice

My goodness me it’s been a while since I posted! Things have been busy here at Magpie Towers (my desk!) what with preparations for the summer and launching a mammoth 50% off sale in my Etsy store but I think today is the day for an update!

I often find my favourite crafts are inspired by ‘in’ jokes between friends and this is certainly no exception! Not too long ago a very good friend of mine was in court and asked me to join her to lend some moral support and also to take some notes. I felt obliged to warn her that whilst I would endeavour to do as she asked, it was quite likely that my mind would wander and I would end up doodling random nonsense, which I did of course. One of her favourite doodles (apart from a ‘skeleton argument’ and a most unflattering caricature of the appellant) was ‘The Surfing Bunny of Justice’, whom we have invoked ever since whenever an we have witnessed injustice of any kind – he stamps it out with his gargantuan feet 🙂
Even more recently my friend had a birthday (which she spent in hospital) and is today leaving the country to join the Greenpeace ship, Rainbow Warrior for a two month tour! If these were not grounds for me to bring the Surfing Bunny of Justice to life then I don’t know what would be  Grin

Without any further ado, allow me to introduce the Surfing Bunny of Justice!

Please excuse my messy, messy desk in the background! I’m an artist, I don’t do tidy 😉 I used a tutorial I found on Youtube to create the basic shape of the bunny, and winged the surfboard with a little help from my genius husband. The reverse of the surfboard has the scales of justice engraved, which I later stained with acrylic paint (sorry, I didn’t get a picture of this) All in all he took around four hours, plus 45 mins baking time 🙂

Thanks for reading to the end! As a reward, here is another picture of a forlorn looking bunny, without any ears or arms – awwwwww!

I’m so, so pleased with how he turned out and she absolutely adores him, in fact he’s travelling with her to South Korea as I type, to stamp out injustice on the high seas! Good luck out there, Katie and stay safe.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sammi Beggs
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 12:22:35

    He’s fantastic Em!! I’m sure he and Katie will have a fantastic time!

    Reply

    • emilymagpie
      Jun 05, 2011 @ 12:28:44

      Thanks Sammi 🙂 that last picture is so sad, he looks like he badly needs a cuddle but doesn’t have any arms 😦 He’s certainly going to be one well travelled bunny!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

